PIC Program



Wednesday, May 10
Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) 1300
15:00 – 15:15 Welcome, opening remarks
Erik Shapiro, Michigan State University
15:15 – 16:15

Session 1: Suns, planets, and biomedical imaging

Thomas Glasmacher, FRIB Laboratory Director
          The Facility for Rare Isotope Beams
Greg Severin, Michigan State University
          Interfacing nuclear science with molecular imaging

16:15 – 17:15 Keynote lecture
Carolyn Anderson, University of Missouri
          The Evolution of Preclinical Imaging in Theranostics Development
17:30 – 18:00 Buses depart for gala dinner
18:00 – 22:00 Gala Dinner sponsored by Bruker and Molecubes
Thursday, May 11
MSU Kellogg Center
8:00 – 8:30 Breakfast
8:30 – 10:00

Session 2: Emerging animal models for biomedical research (Moderator: Kendell Pawelec)

Amir Kol, UC Davis
          From Furry Friends to Human Healing and Back: Unleashing the Potential of Companion Animal Diseases in Translational Medicine
Jie Xu, University of Michigan
          Gene edited rabbits for biomedical research
Randall Prather, University of Missouri
          Genetically Engineered Pigs for Preclinical Evaluation

10:00 – 10:30 Coffee break sponsored by Sofie
10:30 – 12:00 Industrial Innovations Session (Vendors)
12:00 – 14:00 Lunch and Industry Poster Session
14:00 – 15:30

Session 3: Turning images into information (Moderator: Peter Wang)

Kurt Zinn, Michigan State University
          Advancing Preclinical Imaging and Therapy into Phase I Clinical Trials
Kooresh Shoghi, Washington University in St. Louis
          Co-clinical quantitative imaging and informatics in cancer research
Corinna Beale, Tufts University
          Academics and Industry in Preclinical Imaging, a recipe for creating mutually beneficial collaborations

15:30 – 16:00 Coffee break sponsored by Sofie
16:00 – 17:30

Session 4: Imaging large animals for biomedical research – ins and outs (Moderator: Christiane Mallett)

Kirk Munoz, Ohio State University
          Special considerations and guidelines for working with large animals in research
Piotr Walczak, University of Maryland
          Image-guided neurointerventions in large animals
Loreta Sutkus, University of Illinois
          Utilizing the Domestic Pig for Multimodal Neuroimaging 

17:30 – 18:00 Make our way over to Interdisciplinary Science and Technology Building
18:00 – 21:00 Reception and Research & Facility Posters
Friday, May 12
MSU Kellogg Center
8:30 – 9:00 Breakfast
9:00 – 10:30

Session 5: Cutting edge techniques in preclinical MRI (Moderator: Erik Shapiro)

Chunqi Qian, Michigan State University
          Integrated wireless detector for simultaneous imaging and electrophysiological sensing 
Craig Ferris, Northeastern University
         Functional MRI in Awake Animals: Methods and Applications
Sam Grant, Florida State University
          High field Non-Proton MRI at 21.1 T: Metrics for function & recovery

10:30 – 10:50 Coffee break sponsored by Visualsonics
10:50 – 12:20

Session 6: New imaging technology on the horizon (Moderator: Carolina de Aguiar Ferreira)

Henk de Feyter, Yale University School of Medicine
          Preclinical applications of Deuterium Metabolic Imaging
Zibo Li, University of North Carolina
          Development of photoredox labeling technology for PET probe development
David Cormode, University of Pennsylvania
          Photon Counting CT technologies

12:20 – 13:30 Lunch
13:30 – 14:30

Session 7: Imaging non-biomedical samples in biomedical imaging centers (Moderator: Jeremy Hix)

Michael Schueller, University of Missouri
          Unique Challenges in the Use of Nuclear Imaging Techniques in Plant Science
Douglas Rowland, University of California Davis
          Beyond biospecimen imaging

14:30 Closing Remarks
Erik Shapiro, Michigan State University